The Walking Dead Workout

Image

In the spirit of mixing it up and trying new things, today’s exercise routine was brought to you by Season 3, Episode 10: Home.

Or as I discovered after about 25 minutes: ‘The One That Killed My Abs’.

It started off pretty slowly and provided more than enough time for a lengthy warm-up (walking / jogging on the spot) and a few stretches.

21 minutes in – it begins!  A baby cries (squats), a woman screams (burpees), and guns are drawn (push ups).  Then there’s barely any breathing time before it’s onto Daryl and his awesomeness ‘the living’ versus the Walkers (crunches, crunches and more crunches!).

I won’t go into a blow-by-blow, but let’s just say it was a fantastic way to get the heart rate up and the blood pumping.  There were times when I actually had to pause the episode just to catch up (those crunches!), and when baby Judith appeared in one scene I was silently willing her not to cry (saved by the bottle, luckily).

The planking was hard, but appropriate (a minute of silence for each of the fallen).

Then around the 38-minute mark came a van full of Walkers!  I swear the van was more like one of those ‘clown cars’ you see at the circus – they just kept coming and coming, and therefore so did the crunches.

So. Many. Crunches.

I never thought I’d say this, but there was a point I was actually on the side of the Walkers. Not for long, mind you – all I wanted was just enough time to stop my abs from screaming.

Then it was over (oh, the relief).

I’m really thankful that there was no assigned exercise for ‘Feeling like you want to hug or *high five* Daryl’.  If that was the case I would have truly over-exerted myself (the guy rocks!).

Daryl Dixon

I’m not sure if I’ll attempt it again, but it was great to try something a bit strange new.  All-in-all it was a fun, challenging workout, and I can definitely feel it.

Oh, and not too many burpees (thank you, script writers) and that’s always a good thing.

Zombies I can handle, but burpees…they’re just evil.

12 thoughts on “The Walking Dead Workout

  1. Great idea to shake up your exercise regime. Only problem is I’m too much of a wuss to watch Walking Dead. Now, if there’s a Spartacus or Game of Thrones version I’d be first in the queue.
    Hope your abs have recovered now 🙂

    • I’ve heard great things about Spartacus, and have all of the episodes but haven’t checked any out yet – sounds like I may need to! In the meantime, I’d definitely be up for a Game of Thrones version (and it’s back on soon-ish!!). 🙂

      • I can see it now. Tyrion swears – crunches, someone draws a sword – star jumps, someone mentions a house motto – burpees etc.
        Spartacus is an acquired taste. Personally I like the ‘skimpily glad and oiled’ look. Although the latest series is a bit serious the others are great fun.

Leave a Reply

