By the Power of Grayskull, I now declare this rest period over!

Yep – that should do it.

But just in case, I’ll also pull out my magic wand (Expecto…Rest-o-stoppus?) and add a sprinkle of fairy dust. That always works…right?

Actually, there’s a lot to be said for rest periods – any runner will tell you that they’re important for recovery.

Example: Run 10k, rest. (Easy, right?)

Nailed it.

I think you’re meant to run again after a few days… but whatever. I’ll leave the technical stuff to the experts.

I discovered I was really good at the resting part and got excited to have a new goal (I love being good at stuff!!). It does take a bit of dedication though – all of that distraction and avoidance is tough work.

Referring back to last year’s Diddly Squat challenge for a few pointers helped a lot, and I even reached Expert Resting Level recently (for those playing at home – that’s the stage where you can physically see your butt imprint in the couch cushions).

So having ticked off that goal, it’s time to set a new one:

Run (or do some other form of exercise) every day in June.

That’s right – it’s Juneathon time!

juneathon_participant_logo

 

 

 

 

 

 

I haven’t taken part before, but figure since it starts on the first day of winter, requires exercise every day, and I haven’t run in months, it’s really quite a sensible thing to do.

Logic has always been one of my strong points.

You do also need to blog – or microblog – about your Juneathon efforts every day, so I’ll be updating here and on Twitter.

I’m actually looking forward to it, and have my trusty treadmill and never-used rowing machine ready as backups on those too-frosty / too-rainy Tasmanian winter days.

Good luck to others taking part, and happy running!

 

Now where did I put my gear…?

8 thoughts on “By the Power of Grayskull, I now declare this rest period over!

Leave a Reply

