The sunrise challenge

Juneathon Day 9: Walking and sunsets

On my walk today (a quick 3k) I got to thinking about a question posed via #RunChat on Twitter: “Sunrise or sunset? Which would you rather see on your run? Why?”

My answer: Sunset.

Why? Part of the reason is that I find it’s a nice way to wind-down after a long day. Plus, they’re so pretty! And right…there. This one was just hanging around waiting for its photo to be taken last week:

sunset

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

iPhone out, click, done. See? Easy.

I guess if I’m being completely honest though, a bigger part of my preference is that sunset running doesn’t involve ‘rising and shining’ and being all chirpy at a time when it feels unnatural. But that’s just me.

I’m more of a night person, and therefore find running at sunrise is so, so much harder (and also – don’t they involve mountain trekking or beaches or other inspiring things?).  Plus, seeing a sunrise takes planning and warm layers and coffee drinking and…well…just getting up early in general.

And there it is: getting up early.

I know it’s easy for others, and there may be people *eye-rolling* at this (sorry), but here’s the thing:

I try, I really do, but am not your typical early-morning riser. So much so, that I have dreamt of a truck backing-up and making that beeping noise (as they do). This can last for ages, but in my dreams I’m OK with it (take your time, Mr Driver. It’s cool, reversing can be hard).

Yeah…so…that ‘beep, beep’? That’s my alarm clock.

(Turns out I can incorporate pesky noises into my dreams and just keep sleeping through. It’s a gift and a curse)

Switch to music as an alarm, you say?

Nope. Cue dreams of performing onstage, singing my heart out to whatever happens to be on the radio that morning (apparently I’m an extrovert in my dreams. Go figure).

It doesn’t always happen that way of course, but it’s often enough for me to start setting multiple alarms when I need to get up any earlier than say…6:30am. Either that, or ask ‘J’ (who’s usually already up) to come in and roll me onto the floor. And that never ends well.

So you see – the odds are against me. That’s how much I love my sleep.

But Juneathon is about mixing things up, and I’m up for the challenge:

I will see a sunrise on my run by the end of the month.

Time to see what all the fuss is about. 😉

 

What about you? Sunset or sunrise?

_______________________________________________

 

Previous #juneathon (micro)blog Day 8

11 thoughts on “The sunrise challenge

  1. Totally agree – I run at sunset or even beyond that in the dark. Mornings are for drinking coffee 🙂 Unless I have a running date with my running buddy in Deloraine THEN and only then will I get out of bed with the birds. Love the photo. And sounds like you are going strong with Juneathon – good on you.

  2. Sunset for me. It’s like the prize at the end of a run at the end of the day. I can hardly get myself to work of a morning, if I ran first I’d never get there. Only weekends do I run of a morning and even then its when I wake up, apart from when I was training for the HM, then I did have to get up early to get the hours in. Love your work.

    • I am really enjoying the sunsets, and like how you describe them as ‘the prize’ – so very true. I want to do the morning thing just once, and who knows, it may become more regular. 🙂

  3. At least it is winter for you so sunrise is not *too* early. I would have to get up at 4am to see a sunrise (then it would be hidden by cloud anyway!!). Do it, do it!!

Leave a Reply

